Five-time Champions Australia Finalize Squad for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup

Five-time champions Australia have finalized their 15-player squad for this year’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup. Last month, Australia named a preliminary squad of 18 players for the 50-over showcase, but have now reduced that to 15 as the event in India draws near.

Unlucky Trio Misses Final Cut

The final cut saw all-rounder Aaron Hardie, pacer Nathan Ellis, and young spinner Tanveer Sangha miss out on the squad. The selectors opted for experience, with the majority of the final 15 featuring players who have demonstrated their skills in the past. Even Test star Marnus Labuschagne didn’t make the cut.

Leadership and Support

Fast bowler Pat Cummins will lead the side once again, with experienced quicks Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc supporting him with the new ball. Sean Abbott has been chosen as the backup pacer over Ellis. Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa provide the spinning options.

Also Read
T20 World Cup: क्या टीम इंडिया की मेंटरशिप धोनी को आने वाले सालों में CSK डग-आउट टेम्प्लेट सेट करने में मदद करेगी? | क्रिकेट खबर

Strong Batting Line-Up

There were no surprises among the batters, with David Warner, Steve Smith, and Travis Head likely to be used in the top order. All-rounders Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, and Cameron Green add depth to the already high-quality batting line-up.

Keepers in the Squad

Alex Carey and Josh Inglis are the two keepers in the squad. Carey, who performed admirably at the last World Cup in 2019, is considered the first choice.

Preparation and Practice

Australia is currently in South Africa, preparing for a five-game ODI series against the Proteas. They will then travel to the sub-continent for a three-match ODI series against India. Prior to the World Cup, they will have warm-up fixtures against the Netherlands and Pakistan. Their first match at this year’s event will be against hosts India in Chennai on October 8.

Fitness Concerns

While a handful of Australia stars have niggling injuries to overcome, selection chair George Bailey remains confident that all 15 players in the squad will be declared fit prior to the final squad being submitted to the ICC on September 28. Bailey stated, “Pat Cummins, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, and Glenn Maxwell are on track in their return to play programs.”

Also Read
'आश्चर्यजनक है कि एक महान खिलाड़ी की ओर से एक अवांछित टिप्पणी आई': रणतुंगा की 'सेकंड-स्ट्रिंग' टिप्पणी पर पूर्व-भारत चयनकर्ता | क्रिकेट

“There are eight one-day matches still to play in South Africa and India before the final squad is due to be declared. They are followed by two World Cup practice games, which offers plenty of opportunity to continue the build for the tournament.”

Final Squad

The final 15-player squad for Australia’s World Cup campaign includes: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, and Mitchell Starc.