Social worker: Grief is a cycle, be patient

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. – Grief, a universal human experience, takes center stage on this year’s National Grief Awareness Day. It’s a day of reflection and understanding, shedding light on the intricate emotions that accompany loss.

Shannon Bruin, a respected licensed clinical social worker hailing from Thriveworks counseling and psychiatry in Grand Rapids, delves into the multifaceted nature of grief. Bruin asserts, “Grief encapsulates the chasm between our expectations and reality. It’s the poignant process of reconciling what we envision with what truly transpires.” This can encompass the loss of loved ones, cherished moments, and irreversible life changes.

Cyclical Nature Unveiled
Unveiling the cyclical journey of grief, Bruin dismisses the linear notion of its progression. The renowned five stages – Denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance – though a valuable framework, fail to encompass the complex dimensions of grief. Bruin explains, “Grief doesn’t adhere to a linear path. Unexpected triggers can reignite its pangs at any time. Granting ourselves the grace to explore the depths of this emotion is crucial.”

Patience: A Virtue in Grief Support

In the realm of supporting grieving individuals, patience emerges as an invaluable virtue. Bruin emphasizes that those grappling with grief require a compassionate, patient environment. “Whether standing by their side or allowing them solitude, accommodating their unique grieving process is essential,” she attests.

H2: Navigating the Seas of Grief

Also Read
Expert Advice: Managing High-Functioning Depression While Working

Grief, akin to tumultuous seas, demands navigation. Bruin’s insights come as a lifeboat for those lost in its waves. She recommends fostering a culture of patience – extending it to both others and ourselves. In a world that often demands quick resolutions, the grieving process necessitates its own rhythm.

A Call to Understanding
National Grief Awareness Day beckons society to grasp the profound intricacies of grief. It’s an invitation to embrace the enigmatic blend of emotions that accompany loss. Bruin’s sagacious words reverberate, advocating for a compassionate, patient approach to aiding those weathering the storm of grief.

Society’s Role
As society collectively commemorates National Grief Awareness Day, there arises a collective responsibility. Bruin’s wisdom underscores the significance of providing individuals the safe haven they need to grieve, however that process unfolds. Understanding that grief doesn’t adhere to a timetable is the first step in offering authentic support.

A Timeless Lesson
In essence, National Grief Awareness Day imparts a timeless lesson. Grief, as a natural response to loss, requires time, space, and understanding. Bruin’s insights remind us that in the face of this profound human experience, patience can be the beacon that guides us through the darkness, fostering healing and hope.

Also Read
Mahira Khan candidly shares her battle with manic depression

As we commemorate National Grief Awareness Day, let us heed Bruin’s counsel. Let us extend the hand of patience to those navigating the labyrinth of grief. In doing so, we pave the way for collective healing, fostering a society that thrives on empathy and unwavering support.