Chinese New Year 2022
Chinese New Year 2022

Chinese New Year 2022

Lunar New Year 2022: Also known as the Chinese New Year and Spring Festival, it is celebrated by Chinese communities across the world. This year it will be observed on February 1.

The date of Chinese New Year changes every year, but it always falls between January 21st and February 20th. The date is decided by the Chinese Lunar Calendar, which is based on cycles of the moon and sun and is generally 21–51 days behind the Gregorian (internationally used) calendar.

What is the Lunar New Year 2022 Animal? Tiger

2022 is a Year of the Tiger according to the Chinese zodiac. The 12 animals consist of Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig.

More specifically, 2022 is a Year of Water Tiger, starting from February 1st, 2022, and lasting until January 21st, 2023.

Date of the Lunar New Year 2022

Lunar New Year is celebrated with much fervour and the main days of celebrations this year would be January 31 (New Year’s Eve) and February 1.


People clean their houses and hope to be blessed by luck and prosperity, leaving behind the sorrows and bad luck from the past year. The colour red holds a lot of significance for Chinese people and on this day, houses are decorated with bright red banners and children are given money in red envelopes. People exchange gifts, host grand feasts and get-togethers and mark their new year celebrations with a lot of fireworks, firecrackers, dancing dragons and lions.

History and significance

Chinese New Year is said to date back to 14th century BC. Legends have it that in ancient times there was a monster called Nian which attacked people and spread much terror. He was however terrified of the colour red, the sound of firecrackers and the sight of fireworks. People used these things to scare him and chase him away.

From that day onwards, people are believed to celebrate Chinese New Year.

Other countries that celebrate Lunar New Year

East Asian countries also celebrated this day with pomp and fervour. Countries like Vietnam, South Korea, North Korea, and Mongolia celebrate it on the same day albeit with different names and traditions.