Australia and New Zealand are jointly hosting the ninth installment of the FIFA Women’s World Cup, marking a historic occasion with the first-ever dual-hosting of the tournament.

Date and Kickoff Time: The Women’s World Cup final is set to take place on Sunday, August 20. The match is scheduled to kick off at 10:00 GMT (8:00 p.m. local time).

Finalists: The final will witness a showdown between England and Spain. England, reigning European champions, triumphed over Germany in the previous year’s final at Wembley. This final is notably the first in Women’s World Cup history that doesn’t feature the United States or Germany.

Venue: The prestigious World Cup final will be hosted at Stadium Australia in Sydney. This colossal stadium, accommodating nearly 75,000 spectators, holds the distinction of being the largest venue selected for the tournament. Stadium Australia, originally constructed for the 2000 Sydney Olympics, also held the finale of the 2003 men’s Rugby World Cup, where England emerged victorious.

Throughout this tournament, Stadium Australia staged various crucial matches, including Australia’s opening clash against Ireland and knockout rounds, all witnessing sold-out audiences.

Also Read
How to Enjoy MLS Action in India: A Guide for 2023

Favorites to Win: Leading bookmakers’ odds indicate a tight competition:

  • William Hill: Spain 5/6, England 5/6
  • BET365: Spain 4/5, England 19/20

Tiebreaker Rules: In the event of a tie at the conclusion of the 90 minutes of standard play, an additional 30-minute extra time period is played. If parity persists even after extra time, the victor is determined by a penalty shootout. Initially, each team takes five penalty shots, followed by sudden death if the deadlock persists.

Participating Teams: The Women’s World Cup commenced with 32 teams competing in a group stage, divided into eight groups of four:

Group A: New Zealand (hosts), Norway, Philippines, Switzerland

Group B: Australia (hosts), Canada, Nigeria, Ireland

Group C: Costa Rica, Japan, Spain, Zambia

Group D: China, Denmark, England, Haiti

Group E: Netherlands, Portugal, United States, Vietnam

Group F: Brazil, France, Jamaica, Panama

Group G: Argentina, Italy, South Africa, Sweden

Group H: Colombia, Germany, South Korea, Morocco